Morphettville Racecourse held its first race meeting back in 1875 and is now the main racing track in South Australia, located just ten kilometres from the centre of Adelaide.

Morphettville Racecourse now has two tracks; Morphettville Track and Morphettville Parks Track. These tracks have the ability to host both flat racing, as well as steeple and hurdle races. The track has the ability to have fourteen runners per race over a distance from 1000 metres 3,200 metres for flat racing and 3000 metres to 3350 metres for hurdle and steeple races. The Morphettville Track proper has a circumference of 2339 metres and a straight that is 334 metres long, while The Parks track has a circumference of 2,100 metres. Horses run in an anticlockwise direction and there are three chutes located on the track at 1,200, 1,800 and 2,000 metres.

South Australian Jockey ClubMorphettville Racecourse is the headquarters of the South Australian Jockey Club who host approximately 65 race days per year at the Morphettville track. The Club has 2000 members and employs nearly 500 staff. Due to so many meets being schedules each year over Morphettville’s two tracks, world first hydraulic winning posts were installed to ensure minimal damaged was caused to the tracks when moving the state of the art retractable posts. The track was resurfaced and renovated in 2002, making it what some people believe to be the best course in the southern hemisphere.

Morphettville Racecourse holds a variety of major race days each year. These include the Adelaide Cup, Australasian Oaks, Robert Sangster Stakes, Goodwood Handicap and the Group 1 South Australian Derby. The South Australian Derby is run each year around April and is a set-weights race for three-year-olds and is run over a distance of 2,500 metres. The race was first held in 1960 when it was won by Midnight, and has been raced every year since except for 1869-1875, 1885-1889 and 1942-1943 when the race was not run at all.