Angst Stakes

The 2017 Angst Stakes is a Group 3 mile event (1600m) held at Royal Randwick Racecourse during October.

An important feature of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, the Angst Stakes is held on Spring Champion Stakes Day alongside the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m).

The Angst Stakes is held under set weights plus penalties conditions and is restricted to mares aged four years and older. These conditions engender serious competition and enjoyable punting, as the better mares always tend to rise to the top.

With $150,000 on offer, the Angst Stakes presents a fairly attractive target to handier mares that are comfortable with mile events. Often you’ll see horses step up to the 1600m from earlier races at 1400m, rather than stepping down from lengthier distances.

It pays to watch the lead-up races to the Angst Stakes. You’ll notice a pattern of similar winners and fields between earlier races such as the Group 3 Golden Pendant (1400m) at Rosehill Gardens and the Group 3 Tibbie Stakes (1400m) at Newcastle Racecourse. If a mare runs well in either of those events, she’s worth keeping an eye on in the Angst Stakes.

The Angst Stakes was inaugurated in 1994, with Sky Watch taking out the first edition of the race. Since then, the Angst Stakes has played a central part in the spring campaigns of many mares, and fulfilled an important role in Sydney Spring racing.

Named after champion mare Angst, the Angst Stakes is one of the better events for mares held towards the end of the Sydney Spring Carnival.

Over the years, the Angst Stakes has adjusted in distance from 1400m, to 1500m, and finally to the 1600m distance it holds today. Inaugurated as a Listed race, the Angst Stakes earned Group 3 status in 2013.

The Angst Stakes has changed venues a few times, but has always been held at either Rosehill Gardens or Royal Randwick.

2017 Angst Stakes Field

The Angst Stakes field usually features a fairly diverse range of skills and racing backgrounds. Mares contest the Angst Stakes field following a variety of preparations, however the majority have had a few starts prior.

The 2017 Angst Stakes field is now published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1x34221x31 DAYSEE DOOM Ron Quinton Andrew Adkins (a) 14 57kg 107
2 4x31033x42 DIXIE BLOSSOMS Ron Quinton Kerrin McEvoy 6 57kg 106
3 6x621x3253 IMPOSING LASS (NZ) Bjorn Baker Jason Collett 7 56kg 95
4 5111619×25 DAWN WALL Chris Waller Brenton Avdulla 3 56kg 90
5 x762171x90 SHAZEE LEE Scott Singleton Tye Angland 11 56kg 82
6 11x9725x05 ZENALICIOUS Les Bridge Tim Clark 2 55kg 83
7 4x2407x209 DENMAGIC David Pfieffer Ms Winona Costin 1 54kg 92
8 931422×627 PERFECT RHYME Ron Leemon Ms Rachel King (a) 5 54kg 86
9 56×3835533 HETTY HEIGHTS Kim Waugh Larry Cassidy 12 54kg 85
10 186x2122x3 MY TRUE LOVE Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Glyn Schofield 10 54kg 84
11 15×4021103 LOVANI Robert Smerdon Adam Hyeronimus 8 54kg 80
12 11×4124125 MISS DUBOIS (NZ) Matthew Dunn 9 54kg 74
13 1×411 SAVAPINSKI (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Christian Reith 4 54kg 73
14 46×6434128 MARIQUITA Gerald Ryan James Innes Jnr (a) 13 54kg 71

2017 Angst Stakes Nominations

The Angst Stakes nominations provide a pretty good indication of the intentions of a lot of horses for the remainder of the spring. A lot of mares who enter the Angst Stakes nominations are unlikely to head to Melbourne to contest spring fixtures there.

The 2017 Angst Stakes nominations will be uploaded here on Monday, October 5th.

Angst Stakes Results

Notable Angst Stakes winners include Rich Aunty (1996), Prenuptial (2000), Hennessy Waltz (2004), More Than Lucky (2006) and Sharnee Rose (2013). Angst Stakes results and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 Dixie Blossoms 2 Daysee Doom 3 Zenalicious 1:34.5
2016 1 Dixie Blossoms 2 Lady Le Fay 3 Happy Hannah 1:34.0
2015 1 Casino Dancer 2 Wine Tales 3 Zarzali 1:33.2
2014 1 Neena Rock 2 Estonian Princess 3 Danesiri 1:34.5
2013 1 Sharnee Rose 2 Queenstown 3 Porcellanus 1:35.5
2012 1 Nocturnelle 2 Angelus 3 Skyerush 1:31.5
2011 1 Little Surfer Girl 2 Quidnunc 3 Skyerush 1:24.7
2010 1 Lovemelikearock 2 Shannara 3 Live In Sin 1:22.8
2009 1 Illuminates 2 Patronyme 3 Love And Kisses 1:24.8
2008 1 Neroli 2 Lustre Lady 3 Vecchia Roma 1:23.97
2007 Race Not Run
2006 1 More Than Lucky 2 Melody 3 A Country Girl 1:22.9
2005 1 Wild Queen 2 One In A Million 3 Shalimar Sky 1:22.0
2004 1 Hennessy Waltz 2 Magsaya 3 Wasimah 1:24.8
2003 1 Zanna 2 Fiammarosa 3 Coupe 1:24.2
2002 1 Miss Zoe 2 Veloce 3 Palidamah 1:24.5
2001 1 Danasia 2 Dandify 3 Gypsy Mai 1:24.3
2000 1 Prenuptial 2 Miss Zoe 3 Briannon 1:23.2