The countdown is on to tonight’s 2021 Melbourne Cup barrier draw, scheduled to air at 6pm AEDT immediately following the last race at Flemington on Derby Day.

The final field is yet to be locked in, but the 161st edition of the ‘race that stops a nation’ looks set to feature a typically strong field of 24, potentially headlined by up to 12 internationals.

Peter Moody’s sensational stayer Incentivise remains at the top of Ladbrokes’ All-In market following his dominant win in the Caulfield Cup a fortnight ago.

The Shamus Award gelding firmed into as short as $2.30 following the win, followed closely by last year’s winner Twilight Payment, who is the only other runner at single figures ($9.00).

The Irish international is hoping to become the first horse since Makybe Diva to do the Cup double, while Miami Bound and The Chosen One could potentially line up for a second straight year.

There’s still plenty of doubt surrounding Spanish Mission, however. The American raider failed a second vet examination earlier in the week and remains on the second line of betting at $10.00.

Meanwhile, back in Sydney, champion trainer Chris Waller has a big decision to make with nine-time Group 1 winning mare Verry Elleegant.

The reigning Horse of the Year was the beaten favourite in last week’s Cox Plate, but is looking to atone with James McDonald back in the saddle after the star hoop lost his ride on Away He Went.

Ladbrokes’ All-In Melbourne Cup market can be viewed here, while the likely final field is available below.

Likely 2021 Melbourne Cup Field*

No. Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 1131×33912 TWILIGHT PAYMENT (IRE) G 9 Joseph O’Brien Jye McNeil 58kg
2 111111×111 INCENTIVISE G 5 Peter G Moody Brett Prebble 57kg (1.5kg penalty)
3 17x2513x2x SPANISH MISSION (USA) H 6 Andrew Balding Craig Williams 57kg
4 x3112x2143 VERRY ELLEEGANT (NZ) M 6 Chris Waller James McDonald (?) 57kg
5 132113×950 EXPLOSIVE JACK (NZ) H 4 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen 57kg
6 x2606x3420 THE CHOSEN ONE (NZ) H 6 Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Damian Lane 54kg
7 111x6x4210 DELPHI (IRE) H 5 Anthony & Sam Freedman Damien Oliver 53.5kg
8 1x610x5059 OCEAN BILLY (NZ) G 6 Chris Waller 53.5kg (1.0kg penalty)
9 86541×0840 SELINO (GB) G 6 Chris Waller 53.5kg
10 29431×0090 JOHNNY GET ANGRY (NZ) G 4 Denis Pagan Lachie King 53kg
11 3x8511x909 KNIGHTS ORDER (IRE) G 7 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Daniel Stackhouse 53kg
12 5x1244x373 PERSAN G 5 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Luke Currie 53kg
13 07422×4747 CARIF G 6 Peter & Paul Snowden Blaike McDougall 52.5kg
14 x663x00030 MASTER OF WINE (GER) G 7 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 52.5kg
15 x22x722x54 PONDUS (GB) G 6 Robert Hickmott Rachel King 52.5kg
16 x221211251 GRAND PROMENADE (GB) G 6 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Kerrin McEvoy 52kg (1.0kg penalty)
17 x1510x0600 PORT GUILLAUME (FR) G 5 Ben & JD Hayes Harry Coffey 52kg
18 78333×0095 MIAMI BOUND (NZ) M 5 Danny O’Brien 52kg
19 2324×37197 SHE’S IDEEL M 6 Bjorn Baker 52kg
20 3x6133x086 FUTURE SCORE (IRE) G 7 Matt Cumani Dean Yendall 51.5kg
21 4100×66730 FUN FACT G 6 Bjorn Baker 51.5kg
22 12114×3321 TRALEE ROSE (NZ) M 5 Symon Wilde Dean Holland 51kg
23 x41x81x248 SIR LUCAN (IRE) H 4 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Glen Boss 50kg
24 4×13275155 GREAT HOUSE (IRE) G 5 Chris Waller 50kg

*Note all horses and saddle cloth numbers are TBC. 

About The Author