The 2024 Australian Derby, a highlight of “The Championships,” promises an exciting clash of three-year-olds this Saturday at Royal Randwick.

2024 Rosehill Guineas winner Riff Rocket

Rosehill Guineas winner Riff Rocket chases Group 1 win number three in Saturday’s 2024 Australian Derby field. Photo: Steve Hart.

The $3 million Group 1 race (2400m) features a talented field vying for classic glory.

Chris Waller‘s star gelding Riff Rocket sits atop the Australian Derby betting boards at $3.60 through Ladbrokes.

Fresh off his victory in the Rosehill Guineas (2000m), he looks to become the first horse since Criterion in 2014 to complete the coveted Rosehill Guineas – Australian Derby double.

The only filly in the race, James CummingsZardozi, presents a unique challenge at $4.20.

The talented Kingman filly boasts a win in the VRC Oaks (2500m) and a recent victory over the boys in the Phar Lap Stakes (1500m) this prep.

With Jamie Kah aboard, she seeks to become the first Australian Derby-winning filly since Shamrocker in 2011.

Several other horses have the potential to cause an upset.

Godolphin‘s Tom Kitten ($5.50), last year’s Spring Champion Stakes winner, is a threat after a close sixth in the Rosehill Guineas.

Local hope Wymark ($7) is riding a four-race winning streak, having captured the Tulloch Stakes (2000m) last weekend.

Witness the next generation of champions battle it out! The 2024 Australian Derby takes place at Royal Randwick on Saturday.

2024 Australian Derby Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Probable Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 x12121x131 RIFF ROCKET Chris Waller James McDonald 10 56.5kg 107
2 13321×6546 TOM KITTEN James Cummings Adam Hyeronimus 3 56.5kg 100
3 312x6x662 CEOLWULF (NZ) Joseph Pride Blake Shinn 5 56.5kg 92
4 5x9732x673 CAP FERRAT Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 7 56.5kg 88
5 x41183x794 GANBARE Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tim Clark 1 56.5kg 88
6 1115 IMMEDIACY (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Luke Currie 13 56.5kg 88
7 34×2421111 WYMARK (NZ) Michael Freedman Tommy Berry 14 56.5kg 88
8 24100×652 NOISY BOY Todd Howlett Jay Ford 8 56.5kg 80
9 31150×3067 GLAD YOU THINK SO John Sargent Ms Rachel King 4 56.5kg 69
10 21241 ADAGIO Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Regan Bayliss 11 56.5kg 60
11 x01x598462 ZENMASTER Craig Carmody Chad Schofield 9 56.5kg 60
12 5x865x233 HOOLIGAN TOMMY (NZ) John Sargent Jason Collett 12 56.5kg 56
13 x32524x231 SAXON BRAVE Daiki Chujo 6 56.5kg 55
14 007121×013 ZARDOZI James Cummings Ms Jamie Kah 2 54.5kg 102

Table Credit: Racing Australia.

This page and the written content within it were partially generated using AI or automated technology and edited and verified by our editorial team.


For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit

About The Author

Lucy Henderson

Lucy is an experienced horse racing journalist that has been a crucial member of the team for the better part of a decade. She has taken great delight in covering champion mares Black Caviar and Winx throughout their careers and always has a soft spot for a winning filly.