Zeditave Stakes

The 2018 Zeditave Stakes is a Group 3 sprint conducted at the renowned Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne.

The Zeditave Stakes is held during the Summer Racing Carnival, usually towards the end of January. It has become an Australia Day staple recently, and is often used as a springboard for the Autumn Racing Carnival.

It is raced over 1200m under set weights plus penalties conditions. Restricted to three year olds, the Zeditave Stakes pays a fairly lucrative $150,000.

Most horses targeting the Zeditave Stakes do so as a lead-up race to later events during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival, of which many major days are hosted at Caulfield Racecourse.

There are few races to watch for form guidance prior to the Zeditave Stakes, and many three year olds contest the race first-up or following a start in a non black-type event.

The Zeditave Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 in 2013, previously having held listed status. At the same time it moved to its own slot as a feature event, whereas in the past it was held on Blue Diamond Stakes Day.

The Zeditave Stakes is named after the 1988 Blue Diamond Stakes winner Zeditave.

Notable Zeditave Stakes winners include Almurtajaz (1989), Street Talk (1996), Destruction Point (1999), Not A Single Doubt (2005) and Not Listenin’Tome (2014).

2018 Zeditave Stakes Field

The Zeditave Stakes field is usually comprised of a fairly decent range of sprinters, mostly hailing from Melbourne stables. Sometimes the odd runner from Sydney stables or elsewhere will make the journey down to contest the Zeditave Stakes field, and possibly stay for the Autumn Carnival.

The 2018 Zeditave Stakes field will be provided here.

2018 Zeditave Stakes Nominations

The Zeditave Stakes nominations attract a broad range of three year olds. Because it is such an ideal lead-up event to the later three year old features in the Autumn, the Zeditave Stakes nominations often see a lot of genuinely talented three year olds returning to racing.

The 2018 Zeditave Stakes nominations will be published below.

Zeditave Stakes Results

Zeditave Stakes results, winners and winning times since 2004 are provided below.

Year Results Winning Time
2018 1 Overshare 2 Wild Heart 3 Streets of Avalon 1:09.16
2017 1 Benz 2 Hard Promise 3 Derryn 1:08.71
2016 1 Santa Ana Lane 2 Brockhoff 3 Bassett 1:09.53
2015 1 Rommel 2 Galaxy Pegasus 3 Convincible 1:10.4
2014 1 Not Listenin’tome 2 Consorting 3 Thermal Current 1:09.2
2013 1 Happy Galaxy 2 Rusambo 3 Wakeel 1:10.6
2012 1 Instinction 2 Specter 3 Petman 1:09.3
2011 1 Eclair Mystic 2 Spirited Eagle 3 Po Ching King 1:10.6
2010 1 Denman 2 Carrara 3 Spacecraft 1:08.7
2009 1 Time Thief 2 Fravashi 3 Fernandina 1:10.03
2008 1 Bundle O’ Gold 2 Lord Monty 3 El Mandon 1:09.7
2007 1 Haradasun 2 Eclair Passion 3 Churchill Downs 1:09.5
2006 1 Minson 2 Red Dazzler 3 Thin And Crispy 1:10.9
2005 1 Not A Single Doubt 2 Danehill Express 3 Volitant 1:10.0
2004 1 St Elmo’s Fire 2 Abdullah 3 Bushido 1:23.1