Vinery Stud Stakes

The 2019 Vinery Stud Stakes, formerly known as the Storm Queen Stakes, is a Group 1 race that is held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in Sydney during April each year. Run under set-weight conditions, the Vinery Stud Stakes is open to three-year-old fillies only.

The Vinery Stud Stakes is worth $500,000 in prize money and is the key lead-up to the Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m) that is run at Royal Randwick a fortnight later. The race in run on BMW Stakes Day alongside the Group 1 The BMW (2400m).

The 2019 Vinery Stud Stakes is the first Group 1 event that is restricted to fillies that is held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and generally draws a strong field. Fillies generally come from a wide variety of races before running in the Group 1 event; with previous winners of the events contesting races like the Group 2 Kewney Stakes (1600m), Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m), Group 3 Keith Nolan Classic (1600m) and Group 1 Royal Randwick Guineas (1600m) before contesting the Vinery Stud Stakes.

Horses that perform well in the Vinery Stud Stakes generally go on to run in the Australian Oaks, but only Serenade Rose (2006), Danendri (1997), Alcove (1994), Research (1989) and Sheraco (1982) have been able to win complete the Vinery Stud Stakes/Australian Oaks double.

Research (1989), Miss Finland (2007), Purple (2009) and Faint Perfume (2010) are amongst the notable horses to have won the Vinery Stud Stakes; with Research arguably the most successful winner of the Group 1 event. Research recorded the first race win of her autumn campaign in 1989 when she took out the Vinery Stud Stakes and went on to take out the both Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) and Australian Oaks – a feat that has never been repeated.

Vinery Stud Stakes Field

The Vinery Stud Stakes field always features the best staying fillies from right around Australia as well as New Zealand. Horses that contest the Vinery Stud Stakes generally come from a variety of different form lines and it can be extremely difficult to pick the winner of the Group 1 event. The Vinery Stud Stakes can be run with a capacity field of 16 runners, but the presence of an exceptional filly often means the race is run with a small field; with only seven runners contesting the race in 2007 (won by Miss Finland) and 2012 (won by Mosheen).

2019 Vinery Stud Stakes Field

The 2019 Vinery Stud Stakes field is below.

As soon as the 2019 Vinery Stud Stakes field is available, it will be published here.

2019 Vinery Stud Stakes Nominations

Vinery Stud Stakes Winners & Results

Below you will find a list of results and winners for the Vinery Stud Stakes since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2019 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2018 1 Hiyaam 2 Unforgotten 3 Aloisia 2:03.5
2017 1 Montoya’s Secret 2 Nurse Kitchen 3 Harlow Gold 2:09.7
2016 1 Single Gaze 2 Valley Girl 3 Happy Hannah 2:03.0
2015 1 Fenway 2 First Seal 3 Thunder Lady 2:03.27
2014 1 Lucia Valentina 2 Solicit 3 Forever Loved 2:07.07
2013 1 Norzita 2 Longport 3 Habibi 2:06.12
2012 1 Mosheen 2 Streama 3 Aliyana Tilde 2:02.37
2011 1 Mirjulisa Lass 2 Fibrillation 3 Brazilian Pulse 2:03.4
2010 1 Faint Perfume 2 Valdemoro 3 Absolute Faith 2:02.5
2009 1 Purple 2 Gold Water 3 Gallica 2:07.0
2008 1 Heavenly Glow 2 Galileo’s Daughter 3 Pentura 2:09.2
2007 1 Miss Finland 2 Banc De Fortune 3 Just Dancing 2:03.8
2006 1 Serenade Rose 2 Beauty Watch 3 Flora Danica 2:01.3
2005 1 Hollow Bullet 2 Lotteria 3 She’s Justa Tad 2:00.5
2004 1 Special Harmony 2 Shamekha 3 Ike’s Dream 2:01.8
2003 1 Shower Of Roses 2 Bramble Rose 3 Rasberry Ripple 2:04.4
2002 1 Sixty Seconds 2 Hosannah 3 Quays 2:00.1
2001 1 Tempest Mom 2 Rose Archway 3 Calm Smytzer 2:02.9
2000 1 Hill Of Grace 2 Kirkstall Lane 3 Miss Zoe 2:02.4