Tibbie Stakes

The 2016 Tibbie Stakes is a Group 3 sprinting event hosted by the Newcastle Jockey Club at Broadmeadow Racecourse.

Raced over 1400m and restricted to fillies and mares, the Tibbie Stakes is a great sprinting challenge, particularly under set weights plus penalties conditions. With $125,000 prize money, this is a fairly lucrative country race.

Punters look to the Tibbie Stakes for form guidance leading into the remainder of the Spring Racing Carnival. It is not unusual for top fillies and mares to travel to Newcastle to include the Tibbie Stakes in their spring campaign. In fact, it is common for black-type winning horses from Sydney and elsewhere to make the journey to the two-day Newcastle Racing Carnival.

The Tibbie Stakes is one of five black type races held during the annual Newcastle Racing Carnival in September. The Tibbie Stakes is run on Newcastle Cup Day, which features the Group 3 Newcastle Gold Cup (2300m). The day before boasts two Group 3 events; the Cameron Handicap (1500m) and the Spring Stakes (1600m), as well as the Listed Hannan’s Handicap.

Horses generally tend to target the Tibbie Stakes as part of a broader spring campaign. As a result, you’ll often see mares and fillies travelling out of their way to mix it with the locals in search of an additional black-type victory. The Group 3 Sheraco Stakes (1200m) is often contested by a few of the same horses who hit the Tibbie Stakes. Following success in the Tibbie Stakes, horses may seek to challenge the Group 3 Angst Stakes (1600m) at Rosehill.

The race is registered as the Tibbie Plate and was known as that until the upgrade to a listed event in 2005. The Tibbie Stakes has had a decent history of entertaining racing and great punting opportunities. The Tibbie Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 status in 2013 as part of the resurgence of Newcastle horse racing. It was inaugurated in 1990.

2016 Tibbie Stakes Field

The Tibbie Stakes field is usually comprised of a solidly performing selection of horses. Like most country meets, there will always be a roughie or two. However, the Tibbie Stakes field by and large usually attracts some of the better short-distance fillies and mares from around the state. The 2016 Tibbie Stakes field will be provided below as soon as it is available.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 0717319×30 SAVOUREUX Kris Lees Brenton Avdulla 11 57kg 97
2 4511x506x1 FITOU John O’Shea James McDonald 1 56kg 84
3 22831168x NO PUSHOVER (NZ) Craig Ritchie Hugh Bowman 10 56kg 72
4 6x94121x REPLIQUE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Kerrin McEvoy 9 56kg 75
5 6622333×31 ROCKET COMMANDER Matthew Dale Blake Shinn 4 56kg 90
6 x1496x6514 FASHION SNIPTZ Kris Lees Christian Reith 7 55kg 66
7 444×958324 FRILL SEEKING Matthew Smith Tim Clark 3 55kg 78
8 322x0013x7 KELLYVILLE FLYER Jason Attard Johan Victoire 5 55kg 82
9 15147×633 LA MUSE Gerald Ryan Tommy Berry 6 55kg 70
10 42x224550x SPIRIT BIRD (NZ) James Cummings Glyn Schofield 13 55kg 72
11 712135×955 TALTARNI Craig Carmody Matthew McGillivray (a) 8 55kg 68
12 x8904x4212 TEARS IN HEAVEN Tracey Bartley Grant Buckley 12 55kg 73
13 4x43x1911 LITTLE SHOCKER (NZ) Kris Lees Andrew Gibbons 2 54kg 64

2016 Tibbie Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Tibbie Stakes nominations will be released on Monday, September 14. There are always a number of solid fillies and mares included in the Tibbie Stakes nominations. The 2015 Tibbie Stakes nominations will be listed below.

Some of the more notable winners of the Tibbie Stakes include Shalimar Sky (2005) and Moti (2009). Tibbie Stakes results and winning times since 2001 are listed below.

Tibbie Stakes Results

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 She’s Clean 2 Two Blue 3 Sultry Feeling 1:23.3
2014 1 Fine Bubbles 2 I’m In The Money 3 Gold Epona 1:23.8
2013 1 Vaquera 2 Gold Epona 3 Cameo 1:23.9
2012 1 Nocturnelle 2 New Beginning 3 Irish Dream 1:22.8
2011 1 More Strawberries 2 Skyerush 3 Sweetest Melody 1:24.1
2010 1 Vintedge 2 Hidden Wonder 3 Ashlee’s Jewel 1:23.2
2009 1 Moti 2 Patronyme 3 Illuminates 1:22.4
2008 1 Miss Pageantry 2 Maybe I 3 Tijuana 1:23.4
2007 1 Not Held 2 3
2006 1 Yolo 2 Gawne 3 China Jade 1:22.6
2005 1 Shalimar Sky 2 Fantasia 3 Johan’s Toy 1:23.7
2004 1 St Jessie 2 Magsaya 3 Hennessy Waltz 1:22.3
2003 1 Imperatrix 2 Native Jester 3 Reve 1:23.9
2002 1 Miss Zoe 2 Airlie Bird 3 Our Earth Star 1:26.2
2001 1 Expresso Rose 2 Unknown 3 Unknown 1:24.29