The Shorts

The Shorts 2017 is a Group 2 event run at the very start of October during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. It’s for horses aged three and older and contested over a 1200m sprint at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

There is $200,000 in prize money on offer to the victorious connections and it takes a more than handy horse to win the event. The race jumps during Group 1 Epsom Handicap Day when the spring carnival really starts to heat up down in Sydney.

As always during the spring racing carnival in New South Wales there’s plenty of races around for horses to go through before stepping up to the bigger events. It’s the same story for The Shorts with the Group 3 Concorde Stakes one of the best options along with the Group 2 Premiere Stakes.

It takes a quality horse to win The Shorts as is shown in the winners list.

Rise ‘N’ Shine won in 1990 before Euclase ran one of the fastest times ever when triumphing in 1991.

Hot As Hell set another blistering split when winning in 1997 while Black Ink won in 2005 ahead of the then young veteran campaigner Mustard.

More recently Hot Danish finished second behind Fritz’s Princess in 2008 but earned redemption when claiming the 2010 event ahead of Whitefriars.

2017 The Shorts Field

The Shorts field is usually packed out with top quality sprinters, not only from Sydney stables but also from interstate. There are almost always some top black-type performers in The Shorts field, ensuring there are always some fairly reliable punting opportunities. The 2015 The Shorts field will be released on Wednesday, September 14th. As soon as all acceptances are finalised, the 2017 The Shorts field will be provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1x47x3231x CHAUTAUQUA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Brenton Avdulla 8 58kg 122
2 181x2211x1 REDZEL Peter & Paul Snowden Hugh Bowman 5 58kg 113
3 12516x847x TAKEDOWN Gary Moore Tim Clark 3 58kg 110
4 x323x6639x FELL SWOOP Matthew Dale Tye Angland 6 57kg 107
5 470x17266x ENGLISH Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Blake Shinn 9 56kg 113
6 265x63394x BALL OF MUSCLE Joseph Pride Glyn Schofield 7 55kg 103
7 215942245x AFTER ALL THAT Rodney Northam Jason Collett 2 55kg 72
8 11113x410x ECKSTEIN Kurt Goldman Andrew Adkins (a) 4 54kg 97
9 10112x14x3 NIETA John P Thompson Corey Brown 1 53kg 95

2017 The Shorts Nominations

The 2017 The Shorts nominations will be released on Monday September 14th. The Shorts nominations usually feature a broad selection of sprinting talent from Sydney stables and often from elsewhere. If you’re interested in punting throughout the Spring Racing Carnival, then The Shorts nominations can give you a good guide of where horses will be heading and the specific races they intend on targeting. As soon as they are available, the 2017 The Shorts nominations will be uploaded here.

The 2017 The Shorts nominations are provided below.

The Shorts Results

The Shorts winners, results and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 Redzel 2 Ball Of Muscle 3 Nieta 1:01.8
2016 1 Takedown 2 Ball Of Muscle 3 Kaepernick 1:03.2
2015 1 Rebel Dane 2 Ball of Muscle 3 Shiraz 1:04.6
2014 1 Terravista 2 I’m All The Talk 3 Famous Seamus 1:02.5
2013 1 Sessions 2 Aeronautical 3 Spirit Of Boom 1:03.3
2012 1 Pampelonne 2 Satin Shoes 3 Appearance 1:09.6
2011 1 Love Conquers All 2 Albert the Fat 3 Winter King 1:08.7
2010 1 Hot Danish 2 Whitefriars 3 Shellscrape 1:09.5
2009 1 Gold Trail 2 Fritz’s Princess 3 Sniper’s Bullet 1:04.8
2008 1 Fritz’s Princess 2 Hot Danish 3 Keen Commander 1:04.0
2007 Race Not Run
2006 1 Bentley Biscuit 2 Magnus 3 Spark Of Life 1:03.4
2005 1 Black Ink 2 Mustard 3 Fumble 1:03.4
2004 1 Dance the Waves 2 Secret Land 3 Legally Bay 1:04.6
2003 1 Lucky Night 2 Fair Embrace 3 Poetic Papal 1:04.8
2002 1 Empire 2 Shags 3 Fouardee 1:04.1
2001 1 Oamaru Force 2 Pembleton 3 Fair Embrace 1:03.5
2000 1 Bradshaw 2 Guineas 3 Upright 1:03.8