Ted Van Heemst Stakes

The 2018 Ted Van Heemst Stakes (formerly CB Cox Stakes) is a Group 2 contest which is highly anticipated across Western Australia and indeed the rest of the country as well. It’s hosted at the decadent Ascot Racecourse in state’s capital of Perth.

It’s a crucially important race and adds further spectacle to the ever growing reputation of the Perth summer racing carnival. The Ted Van Heemst Stakes is a weight for age contest and is run in December making it one of the final black type events of the calendar year. It is a steady 2100m contest with a quarter of a million in prize money up for grabs.

The Ted Van Heemst Stakes for a long time was actually a 2400m contest but in 2008 the Perth racing Club made the decision to cut it back by 300m. This was the same period when the Perth Cup was trimmed from two miles back to 2400m, therefore effectively replacing the Ted Van Heemst Stakes.

What the move has now done though is make the Ted Van Heemst Stakes an outstanding lead up event going into the Perth Cup a fortnight later.

The Ted Van Heemst Stakes is the very first summer race which stretches beyond 2000m at weight for age level. As mentioned it is a fantastic guide for the Perth Cup and given the recent distance changes it’s likely that it will only strengthen as an accurate precursor.

Lords Ransom has already shown that to be the case with his double victory in 2009.

Previous to him  the double was completed by the likes of Cats Fun in 2007, Palatious in 1993, Mirror Magic in 1991 and Saratov in 1988.

While the Ted Van Heemst Stakes is a Group 2 race there’s no shortage of Group 1 performing horses which are present in the field.

Its scheduling in the heart of the carnival means there’s usually a fair portion of horses which go into it from the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic.

One of the most famous results in the Ted Van Heemst Stakes came in 2006 when Perth’s favourite son Scenic Shot dead heated with Daka’s Gem in one of the greatest finishes in the race’s history.

Other notable winners include Old Cobber who won in 1997 and 1999 and Jack Daniels which won in 1998 ahead of the Melbourne Cup placed Rogan Josh.

2018 Ted Van Heemst Stakes Field

The Ted Van Heemst Stakes field attracts some very talented horses each year. The majority of the Ted Van Heemst Stakes field come from local stables near Ascot or elsewhere in Perth, while some make the journey from interstate. Because of it’s considerable prize money and the fact that things are ramping up in Perth around then, the quality of the Ted Van Heemst Stakes field is usually quite high.

The 2018 Ted Van Heemst Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 221x111x32 MATERIAL MAN Justin Warwick Ms Lucy Warwick 1 59kg 112
2 544431×124 GATTING Darren Mcauliffe Damian Lane 2 59kg 108
3 x9L54x7770 STAR EXHIBIT Adam Durrant Joseph Azzopardi 9 59kg 102
4 21×7730379 DARK MUSKET Graeme Ballantyne Shaun O’Donnell 8 59kg 82
5 1×81185154 PRIZE CATCH Lindsey Smith Glenn Smith 4 59kg 93
6 2441111×65 PRYING TOM Sharon Miller Alan Kennedy 5 59kg 88
7 x2111x2113 GALAXY STAR Grant & Alana Williams William Pike 7 57kg 110
8 22×3332283 ELEGANT BLAST Justin Warwick Mitchell Pateman 6 57kg 82
9 11414×6848 PERFECT JEWEL Grant & Alana Williams Chris Parnham 3 56kg 88

2018 Ted Van Heemst Stakes Nominations

The Ted Van Heemst Stakes nominations are usually released on the Monday or Tuesday prior to the race. The Ted Van Heemst Stakes nominations attract a pretty decent type of horse, usually a thoroughly experienced stayer who has had plenty of weight for age experience.

The 2018 Ted Van Heemst Stakes nominations will be provided here.

Ted Van Heemst Stakes Results

Ted Van Heemst Stakes winners, place getters and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2018 1 Galaxy Star 2 Gatting 3 Perfect Jewel 2:12.5
2017 1 Pounamu 2 Material Man 3 Zarantz  2:16.7
2016 1 Perfect Reflection 2 Fathoms Of Gold 3 Ihtsahymn  2:14.1
2015 1 Delicacy 2 Black Heart Bart 3 Bass Strait  2:14.3
2014 1 Elite Belle 2 Red Blast 3 Bass Strait  2:14.9
2013 1 Ihtsahymn 2 Kincaple 3 Rohan  2:11.17
2012 1 Mr Moet 2 Chester Road 3 Ranger  2.12.13
2011 1 God Has Spoken 2 Kincaple 3 Ranger  2:09.8
2010 1 Colour Correct 2 Admiring 3 Big Ted  2.08.7
2009 1 Lords Ransom 2 Largo Lad 3 Dante’s Banquet  2:08.8
2008 1 Gilded Venom 2 Annenkov 3 The Fuzz  2:08.7
2007 1 Cats Fun 2 Westerly Breeze 3 Guyno  2:30.5
2006 1 Daka’s Gem =1 2 Scenic Shot =1 3 Ramiro  2:32.5
2005 1 Early Express 2 Blevvo 3 Bon Argent  2:29.4
2004 1 Free At Last 2 Laetare 3 Black Tom  2:30.9
2003 1 Celtus 2 Higgins Gold 3 Free At Last  2:32.6
2002 1 Bold Mirage 2 Tumeric 3 Alibi Bay  2:32.3
2001 1 Never Blue 2 Finito 3 Lottila Bay  2:32.3
2000 1 Old Money 2 Lottila Bay 3 Grand Turismo  2:30.8