Randwick Guineas

The 2019 Randwick Guineas is a Group 1 race for three-year-olds that is run annually in March at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

The Randwick Guineas is run over a distance of 1,600 metres and is worth [cf prize_money] in prize money. The race is run under set-weight conditions and is one of the main events in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

For the 2011 running of the Randwick Guineas the race was moved to Warwick Farm due to a scheduling conflict with a music festival held at Randwick.

A good lead up race to the Randwick Guineas is the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m), which is run a fortnight beforehand. Runners in the Randwick Guineas often go on to run in races such as the Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes (1500m) and the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m). Horses that win the Randwick Guineas are granted automatic entry into both the Australian Derby and the Doncaster Handicap. The Randwick Guineas is the first leg in the Sydney ‘Triple Crown’, along with the Rosehill Guineas and the AJC Derby.

The Randwick Guineas has only been in existence since 2006 when it took the place of the Canterbury Guineas and was won by Hotel Grand. The Canterbury Guineas was held over 1,900 metres and was also a set-weights race for three-year-olds. The Canterbury Guineas was first raced in 1935 when it was won by Hadrian and was raced until 2005 at Canterbury Park Racecourse in Sydney. Notable winners of the Canterbury Guineas include Todman (1957), Beechcraft (1984) and Kingston Bay (1993).

In 2010, Queensland horse Shoot Out won both the Randwick Guineas and the AJC Derby. Other winners of the Randwick Guineas include Mentality (2007), Weekend Hussler (2008) and Metal bender (2009).

2019 Randwick Guineas Field

The Randwick Guineas field is usually comprised of a number of talented milers with plenty of top-level horses. It’s not unusual to see the Randwick Guineas field filled out with Group 1 winners and placegetters, many with an eye on later Group 1 feature events such as the Doncaster Mile.

The 2019 Randwick Guineas field will be provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 111x311x1 THE AUTUMN SUN Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 4 56.5kg 111
2 31x2131x13 MADISON COUNTY (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Tommy Berry 3 56.5kg 106
3 1112 VEGADAZE Anthony Cummings Tim Clark 7 56.5kg 89
4 2141236×43 ARAMAYO James Cummings James McDonald 6 56.5kg 88
5 2x118x2 DIPLOMATICO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Brenton Avdulla 2 56.5kg 81
6 5x43130x24 PURPLE SECTOR (NZ) John Thompson Glyn Schofield 1 56.5kg 74
7 213×11 NAKEETA JANE Mark Newnham Joshua Parr 9 54.5kg 104
8 088223×432 FUNDAMENTALIST David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Sam Clipperton 5 54.5kg 102
9 2x1614x90 MISS FABULASS Kris Lees Jason Collett 8 54.5kg 92

2019 Randwick Guineas Nominations

The Randwick Guineas nominations are usually announced on the Monday prior to the race. Because of the renowned nature of the race, the Randwick Guineas nominations are often packed out with very talented gallopers looking to have a long and successful black-type campaign.

The 2019 Randwick Guineas nominations will be published below.

Randwick Guineas Results

Randwick Guineas results, winners and winning times since 2006 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2019 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2018 1 Kementari 2 Pierata 3 Trapeze Artist 1:33.7
2017 1 Inference 2 Invincible Gem 3 Comin’ Through 1:40.9
2016 1 Le Romain 2 Press Statement 3 Gold Ambition 1:33.83
2015 1 Hallowed Crown 2 Sweynesse 3 Shooting To Win  1:35.06
2014 1 Dissident 2 El Roca 3 Eurozone  1:36.33
2013 1 It’s A Dundeel 2 Proisir 3 Tatra  1:35.14
2012 1 Mosheen 2 Said Com 3 Laser Hawk  1:37.6
2011* 1 Ilovethiscity 2 Skilled 3 Light Brigade  1:35.30
2010 1 Shoot Out 2 Viking Legend 3 Captain Sonador  1:34.94
2009 1 Metal Bender 2 Rock Kingdom 3 Caymans  1:36.5
2008 1 Weekend Hussler 2 Triple Honour 3 Arlington  1:36.3
2007 1 Mentality 2 Teranaba 3 Sniper’s Bullet  1:35.7
2006 1 Hotel Grand 2 Flying Pegasus 3 Primus  1:35.8

* The 2011 Randwick Guineas was run at Warwick Farm.