Once racing has come to an end down south, the top names in horse racing head to Queensland for the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. The winter carnival typically attracts local horses that are not looking to continue their preparations into the spring in Sydney or Melbourne, as well as horses that are seeking to end their Sydney or Melbourne Autumn carnivals on a high.

The Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival begins in May and continues through until June. There are five major race days during the winter carnival, which are BTC Cup Day, Doomben Cup Day, Doomben 10,000 Day, Stradbroke Handicap Day and Queensland Oaks Day.

Stradbroke Handicap Day is the biggest event during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, with prize money totalling more than $2.5 million on that one day alone. The race day program includes five Group races, which are the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap, Group 1 Queensland Derby, Group 1 The TJ Smith, Group 2 Brisbane Cup and Group 2 Queensland Guineas.

Racing in Queensland mainly takes place at the two metropolitan race tracks; Doomben racecourse and Eagle Farm racecourse. However, big race days also feature at provincial tracks such as the Sunshine Coast and Gold Coast racecourses. Races are also held at racecourses such as Ipswich, Cairns, Toowoomba, Mackay, Townsville and Rockhampton throughout the year.

Queensland is also home to the Summer Series and Triple Crown, which begins in December each year and features the Group 3 George Moore Stakes.