Queensland Cup

The 2015 Queensland Cup is a Listed race that takes place each year in late June or early July at Eagle Farm Racecourse. Raced under quality handicap conditions and open to all ages and sex, the Queensland Cup presents an exciting racing spectacle for all who make the trip to the tracks.

Raced over 3200m, the Queensland Cup provides one of the nation’s few genuine staying challenges, allowing trainers from far and wide the opportunity to test their horses at distances greater than 2400m. Paying a total of $150,000 prize money, the Queensland Cup is quite lucrative for a listed race.

While the race certainly isn’t the most prestigious event held at Eagle Farm Racecourse, it still attracts a quality field. The race’s calendar position means that many trainers seek to nominate horses for a final black type run prior to their winter break.

The listed Caloundra Cup (2400m), held a week before at Sunshine Coast Racecourse, also under quality conditions, is considered a good leadup race. See also the Group 3 Tattersall’s Cup (2200m) at Eagle Farm a fortnight prior on Tattersall’s Tiara Day, which is open under quality conditions to horses aged three years and older.

The Queensland Cup is held on a relatively quiet weekend of racing, with only three other meets around the country boasting black-type racing, and of those, only one race is at each of Belmont, Rosehill and Caulfield Racecourses, and only the Group 3 Sir John Monash Stakes (1100m) exceeds the status of the Queensland Cup. The listed Ascot Handicap (1300m) is the only other black type race held on the Queensland Cup race card.

The Queensland Cup has a somewhat tenuous hold on listed status, as the winners over the years have not been wildly outstanding horses. Notable Queensland Cup winners include Tinseltown (2011), Kerdem (2008) and Green Diamond (2000).

2015 Queensland Cup Field

As soon as it is available, the 2015 Queensland Cup field will be published here.

Queensland Cup results since 2000 are below.

Queensland Cup Results

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Iggi Pop 2 Pop ‘N’ Scotch 3 Brayroan  3:21.26
2013 1 Turner Bayou 2 Fifth Column 3 Verdant  3:25.87
2012 1 Spechenka 2 Maythehorsebemagic 3 Fantastic Blue  3:21.28
2011 1 Tinseltown 2 Smoking Chimneys 3 Raeburn  3:25.13
2010 1 Solid Billing 2 Dave The Dude 3 Mr Mayfair  3:23.14
2009 1 Cape Breton 2 Petushki 3 Kerdem  3:27.74
2008 1 Kerdem 2 Sky Biscuit 3 Rezone  3:37.61
2007 1 Race Not Held 2 3  
2006 1 Respect 2 Dicktator 3 Rezone  3:20.69
2005 1 Double Portion 2 Fires Of Ireland 3 Beau  3:23.00
2004 1 Regal Punch 2 Navy Blue 3 Kingsrule  3:23.70
2003 1 Kugelhopf 2 Barhill 3 Up The Bid  3:19.40
2002 1 Time Signal 2 Yuppie 3 Kugelhopf  3:20.50
2001 1 Gillespie 2 Chargold 3 Acorn Icon  3:18.90
2000 1 Green Diamond 2 Lordnor 3 Celtic Revenge  3:20.10