Queen Elizabeth Stakes

The 2019 Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a Group 1 race held  in Sydney in April of every year and is now considered the feature race of The Championships that are held over two weekends at Royal Randwick. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is run over a distance of 2,000 metres and is now worth a staggering $4 million in prize money. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is the headline race on the second weekend of The Championships, which also features the Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m), Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m), and the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m)

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes was first run back in 1851 when it was won by Cossack. The race has undergone many different name and distance changes throughout its long history. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes was originally called the Queens Plate until 1873 when it was renamed the AJC Plate.  The race first became known as the Queen Elizabeth Stakes in 1954 and has kept that name ever since. The race was first run over a staying trip of 4800 metres, but has been contested over 2000 metres since 1986.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is considered the most prestigious weight-for-age event during the 2016 Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and the honour roll is littered with the names of some the greatest horses in the history of Australian racing. Equine superstars that have won the Queen Elizabeth Stakes include Archer (1862), Carbine (1889, 18901 and 1891), Wakeful (1902), Poseidon (1908), Phar Lap (1930), Peter Pan (1933) Tulloch (1958, 1960 and 1961), Ming Dynasty (1978), Might And Power (1998), Lonhro (2003), Grand Armee (2004 and 2005) and More Joyous (2012).

With the massive injection of prizemoney, the Queen Elizabeth Stakes is now one of the richest races in the world and is set to draw runners from right around the globe.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes Field

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes field can feature a maximum of 14 gallopers and the Group 1 event generally draws quality rather than quantity. Now that the race is worth a staggering $4 million, the competition to gain a start in the race is expected to be fierce, especially if trainers and owners from Europe and Asia send their horses to Australia to contest the race. The winners of the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m), Group 1 The BMW (2400m), Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) and Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) are all offered ballot-exempt entry into the Queen Elizabeth Stakes field and there is a chance that the winners of all four races could do battle on the final day of The Championships in 2016.

The 2018 Queen Elizabeth Stakes field will be released on Tuesday April 10 and the barrier draw for the Group 1 event will be conducted later that day. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes field will include some of the best weight-for-age horses from right around Australia.
The 2018 Queen Elizabeth Stakes field is published here

2019 Queen Elizabeth Field, Barriers & Odds

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 213x75x228 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Blake Shinn 6 59kg 118
2 24120×5323 HARTNELL (GB) James Cummings Kerrin McEvoy 4 59kg 116
3 7x0069x471 HARLEM (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Jamie Kah 8 59kg 112
4 513x5565x2 HE’S EMINENT (IRE) Sir Mark Todd James McDonald 3 59kg 110
5 3728x984x4 KLUGER (JPN) Tomokazu Takano Tommy Berry 1 59kg 106
6 741240×324 MASK OF TIME (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Sam Clipperton 7 59kg 99
7 1x1111x111 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 9 57kg 132
8 6x13x11523 DANZDANZDANCE Chris Gibbs & Michelle Bradley Opie Bosson 5 57kg 112
9 4415×06205 SHILLELAGH (NZ) Chris Waller Brenton Avdulla 2 57kg 110

2019 Queen Elizabeth Stakes First Acceptances

the first list of First Acceptances have been taken for the 2018 Queen Elizabeth Stakes as of Tuesday 12th March, 2019 and can now be seen below.

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes History

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes has undergone plenty of changes since it was first run in 1851 when Cossack won the event. Up until 1872, the event was known as the Queen’s Plate and it was then changed to the AJC Plate. In 1954, the race was titled the Queen Elizabeth Stakes and has maintained that name ever since.

Originally raced over 4800m, the distance slowly decreased to 3600m, 2800m, 2400m, 2200m, and finally stopped at 2000m.

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes Records (over 2000m)
Fastest Time: 2:01.22 – Intergaze in 1997
Slowest Time: 2:17.00 – Sydeston in 1990
Most wins by a Jockey: 3 wins – Damien Oliver (2002, 2007, 2008)

Queen Elizabeth Stakes Winners & Results

Here you will find a list of winners of the Queen Elizabeth Stakes since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2019 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2018 1 Winx 2 Gailo Chop 3 Happy Clapper 2:01.6
2017 1 Winx 2 Hartnell 3 Sense of Occasion 2:07.2
2016 1 Lucia Valentina 2 The United States 3 Happy Clapper 2:04.8
2015 1 Criterion 2 Red Cadeaux 3 Royal Descent 2:05.4
2014 1 It’s A Dundeel 2 Sacred Falls 3 Carlton House 2:03.7
2013 1 Reliable Man 2 It’s A Dundeel 3 Happy Trails 2:01.8
2012 1 More Joyous 2 Manighar 3 Secret Admirer 2:05.3
2011 1 My Kingdom Of Fife 2 Sacred Choice 3 Syreon 2:07.77
2010 1 Road To Rock 2 Triple Honour 3 Monaco Consul 2:03.8
2009 1 Pompeii Ruler 2 =2 Sarrera 3 =2 Metal Bender 2:07.1
2008 1 Sarrera 2 Nom Du Jeu 3 Tuesday Joy 2:03.5
2007 1 Desert War 2 Haradasun 3 Spirit of Tara 2:04.2
2006 1 Eremein 2 Aqua d’ Amore 3 Ike’s Dream 2:02.4
2005 1 Grand Armee 2 Delzao 3 Mummify 2:02.6
2004 1 Grand Armee 2 Lonhro 3 Pentastic 2:03.2
2003 1 Lonhro 2 Pentastic 3 Republic Lass 2:04.8
2002 1 Defier 2 Freemason 3 Emission 2:04.3
2001 1 Shogun Lodge 2 Go Flash Go 3 El Mirada 2:05.5
2000 1 Georgie Boy 2 Cronus 3 Referral 2:07.7