Prince Of Wales Stakes

The 2016 Prince Of Wales Stakes is a Group 3 race that takes place at Ascot racecourse in Perth in October each year. Run over a distance of 1,200 metres, the Prince Of Wales Stakes is the first Group race of the Summer Racing Carnival. The Prince Of Wales Stakes is run under weight-for-age conditions and is worth [cf “prize_money”] in prize money.

The Prince Of Wales Stakes was first run in 1988 when it was won by a horse named Fimiston. It is the first race of the summer carnival in Perth, which includes three major Group 1 races. These are the Railway Stakes, Winterbottom Stakes and Kingston Town Classic.

Horses that run in the Prince Of Wales Stakes are often first-up from a spell and looking to begin their summer campaigns. The race usually attracts all the best local gallopers, however, it is not unusual to see one or two horses in the field that have come from the eastern states.

Horses that run well in the Prince Of Wales Stakes may go on to run in the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes and the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes in November.

Notable winners of the Naturalism Stakes include Carry A Smile (1989), Pago’s King (1992), Century Blazer (1995-1996), Double Blue (1998), Secret Remedy (2000-2001), Golden Delicious (2004), Miss Andretti (2005), Idyllic Prince (2007 and 2009) and Waratah’s Secret (2010-2011).

2016 Prince Of Wales Stakes Field

The Prince Of Wales Stakes field usually attracts a fairly diverse range of horses. As one of the earlier black type races in the west, the Prince Of Wales Stakes field tends to see a few handy runners with plans to progress onto major events further down the track.

The 2016 Prince Of Wales Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 12118×5 THE RIVER Trevor Andrews Shaun Mc Gruddy 7 59kg
2 13x2211x THE CELT Vaughn Sigley Takahide Ikenushi 2 56.5kg
3 132×3 SAUL’S SPECIAL Daniel Morton Brad Parnham 10 56kg
4 11x GET OVER IT Trevor Andrews Paul Harvey 4 56kg
5 414x JAZARI Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 8 56kg
6 2x66x13418 SWIFT PLATINUM Ross Price Peter Knuckey 11 55kg
7 3440×1 LUSAHA Daniel Morton Jason Brown 13 55kg
8 3 ROYAL COMMAND Grant & Alana Williams William Pike 12 55kg
9 0x MR UNDERCOVER Glenn Mctaggart Jason Whiting 6 55kg
10 11×363 ELEGANT BLAST Justin Warwick Patrick Carbery 5 54kg
11 3222×32 SHOW HONEY (NZ) Grant & Alana Williams Matthieu Autier 1 53kg
12 34×22 CAIPIRINHA Simon A Miller Joseph Azzopardi 3 53kg
13 3×1 MY GRACE Grant & Alana Williams Randy Tan (a) 9 53kg

2016 Prince Of Wales Stakes Nominations

The Prince Of Wales Stakes nominations can always be relied on to feature a range of talents, from black type winners to strictly country horses. Usually released around a week prior to the event itself, the Prince Of Wales Stakes nominations are a good guide to the late spring and summer plans of quite a few western horses.

The 2016 Prince Of Wales Stakes nominations will be published below.

Prince Of Wales Stakes Winners & Results

Prince Of Wales Stakes results, winners and winning times since 2000 are published below.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Elite Belle 2 Barakey 3 Checkpoint  1:10.1
2013 1 Barakey 2 Power Princess 3 Checkpoint  1:10.7
2012 1 Power Princess 2 Luke’s Luck 3 Playing God  1:09.96
2011 1 Waratah’s Secret 2 Grand Nirvana 3 King Kool Kat  1:10.3
2010 1 Waratah’s Secret 2 Idyllic Prince 3 For Your Eyes Only  1:09.1
2009 1 Idyllic Prince 2 West River Charley 3 Spirited One  1:08.8
2008 1 Dark Target 2 Royal Lott 3 Idyllic Prince  1:08.7
2007 1 Idyllic Prince 2 Grasspatch Girl 3 Stormed Out  1:10.6
2006 1 Real Mak 2 Yaya Lad 3 Wynyard Hall  1:08.9
2005 1 Miss Andretti 2 Star Laser 3 Electic  1:08.2
2004 1 Golden Delicious 2 Rescuer 3 Kaprats  1:11.4
2003 1 Kaprats 2 Dead Eye Dick 3 Hot Shot Brother  1:10.9
2002 1 Tribula 2 Suspicion 3 Kaprats  1:10.7
2001 1 Secret Remedy 2 Old Comrade 3 Mystery Command  1:09.4
2000 1 Secret Remedy 2 Metal Master 3 Surrender To Me  1:10.5