Northerly Stakes

The 2016 Northerly Stakes is a Group 3 sprinting event held during October at Ascot Racecourse in Perth.

The Northerly Stakes is an open handicap event open to horses aged three years and older and raced over 1400m.

There aren’t a lot of major race days in Perth during the Spring Racing Carnival, with the majority of focus on the eastern states. As such, the Northerly Stakes garners quite a bit of local attention. It is the headline event on the day and shares the program with just one other race, the Listed Belgravia Stakes (1200m).

The Northerly Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 Caulfield Cup in Melbourne, so understandably it tends to attract interest from locals only.

There aren’t really any definite lead up races to the Northerly Stakes, so it can be difficult to get an accurate gauge on form.

Conversely, a number of horses use the Northerly Stakes as a lead up race to other events. The Northerly Stakes can be a good event for quality types who are returning to racing following a bit of a spring spell. Following a run in the Northerly Stakes, horses might target the Group 3 RJ Peters Stakes (1500m) or the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes (1400m) later on in the year.

The Northerly Stakes is not very old, having been renamed in 2005. It is named after Northerly, a very successful runner who raced out of Western Australia. He took out a Caulfield Cup-Cox Plate double in 2002.

The Northerly Stakes was previously known as the Anniversary Cup and was inaugurated in 1978.

The Northerly Stakes started out as a listed event, but was upgraded to Group 3 status in 2013 and received a prize money increase. In 2000 it was run over 1600m and in 1999 it was 1800m.

Notable Northerly Stakes winners include Regimental Honour (1979), Red Javelin (1992), Storm Shot (2001) and Ranger (2011).

2016 Northerly Stakes Field

Because it is competing with the eastern spring racing carnival, the Northerly Stakes field tends to draw mainly local horses. Occasionally some fairly classy types will journey over from the east, but usually it is western horses who run in the Northerly Stakes field. Often you’ll find a few first-up runners in the Northerly Stakes field who are kicking off their campaign.

The 2016 Northerly Stakes field is provided below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 11x263849x PORNICHET (FR) Daniel Morton Brad Parnham 7 59.5kg
2 683x661x43 IHTSAHYMN Fred Kersley Ben Paterson 2 57.5kg
3 11111x30x PERFECT REFLECTION Grant & Alana Williams William Pike 3 57.5kg
4 x24x12218x DISPOSITION Grant & Alana Williams Glenn Smith 6 57.5kg
5 11x41x21 LITE’N IN MY VEINS Fred Kersley Steven Parnham 5 57.5kg
6 91413115×6 WINK AND A NOD Justin Warwick Jarrad Noske 1 56.5kg
7 112x1311x2 GREAT SHOT Rhys Radford Craig Staples 11 56.5kg
8 53070x848x BALMONT GIRL Paula Wagg Shaun O’Donnell 4 55.5kg
9 23x111422x NEVERLAND Grant & Alana Williams Peter Hall 10 55.5kg
10 5x1x2131x7 IDEAL IMAGE G Durrant & J Miller Joseph Azzopardi 9 55.5kg
11 3x313111x5 VENGABUS Simon A Miller Peter Knuckey 8 55kg

Northerly Stakes Results

Below you will find Northerly Stakes results and winning times back to 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Lite’n In My Veins 2 Ideal Image 3 Perfect Reflection  1:24.3
2015 1 Black Heart Bart 2 Wink And A Nod 3 Resonates  1:23.7
2014 1 Fuchsia Bandana 2 Miss Rose De Lago 3 Balmont Girl  1:23.2
2013 1 Playing God 2 Rohan 3 Platinum Rocker  1:24.2
2012 1 King Saul 2 Kerrific 3 Maschino  1:22.9
2011 1 Ranger 2 Waratah’s Secret 3 Mega Steel  1:21.4
2010 1 Famous Roman 2 Megatic 3 Colour Correct  1:21.5
2009 1 Megatic 2 Colour Correct 3 London  1:22.2
2008 1 Megatic 2 Tarzi 3 I Command  1:22.2
2007 1 New Spice 2 Jinx King 3 West River Charley  1:23.1
2006 1 Grasspatch Girl 2 Mr Diagnosis 3 Daka’s Gem  1:23.2
2005 1 Changing Lanes 2 Daka’s Gem 3 Danny Blue  1:22.8
2004 1 Prince Of Vasac 2 Blevvo 3 Early Express  1:23.8
2003 1 Superior Star 2 Mogul 3 Kim lisa  1:22.1
2002 1 Mr Callahan 2 Finito 3 Zaheed  1:23.2
2001 1 Storm Shot 2 Shoeless 3 The Grey Cardinal  1:24.1
2000 1 Umah 2 Moonrise 3 Penghulu  1:37.6