Maybe Mahal Stakes

The 2015 Maybe Mahal Stakes is a Group 3 race that takes place at Flemington racecourse in November on Melbourne Cup Day each year.

Run over a distance of 1,400 metres, the Maybe Mahal Stakes is held on the first Tuesday of November as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The Maybe Mahal Stakes is open to mares only and is worth $200,000 in prize money.

The Maybe Mahal Stakes is run under set weights plus penalties conditions, which means that the genuine talents tend to rise to the top in this sprint.

The race was initially run as a Listed race until it was upgraded to a Group 3 in time for the 2012-2013 racing season.The Maybe Mahal Stakes is often contested by horses that have performed well earlier on in the spring carnival in races such as the Group 3 Blazer Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Tristarc Stakes (1400m), Group 3 Moonga Stakes (1400m) and the Group 1 Moir Stakes.

Those mares that demonstrate ability in the Maybe Mahal Stakes may then go on to run in races like the Listed Summoned Stakes or the Group 3 Sandown Stakes (1500m) at Sandown. The Maybe Mahal Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) and is named after a horse named Maybe Mahal who was the 1977-1978 Australian Racehorse of the Year.

Inaugurated in 2005, the Maybe Mahal Stakes is quite a young race. However, in the period since, a range of Australia’s best jockeys, trainers and horses have taken accolades in the event.

The Maybe Mahal Stakes has been known by a variety of sponsored names, including the Lavazza Short Black, the Herald Sun Stakes and the Liberty Financial Plate.

2015 Maybe Mahal Stakes Field

The Maybe Mahal Stakes field usually features some thoroughly experienced mares who have already repeatedly proven themselves across the 1400m distance. Although it is only a Group 3 event, the prize money and prestige of the day ensures the Maybe Mahal Stakes field features some genuine talent.

The 2015 Maybe Mahal Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 21145×6077 TYCOON TARA Symon Wilde Luke Currie 12 59kg 98
2 21112x21x2 PEACE FORCE Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 16 57.5kg 97
3 x75x1902x1 NAYELI Peter & Paul Snowden Ben Melham 13 57.5kg 97
4 1x13139x02 WAWAIL David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Kerrin McEvoy 5 57.5kg 98
5 6x17319x40 DIVERTIRE Joseph Pride Glyn Schofield 9 57.5kg 93
6 5241x54x15 SHE’S CLEAN Chris Waller James McDonald 1 56.5kg 100
7 2128×32101 EXCLUSIVE LASS Nigel Blackiston Michael Walker 17 55.5kg 85
8 2321110837 BERRY DELICIOUS Jason Coyle Tommy Berry 4 55kg 93
9 627×337825 WINE TALES Chris Waller Zac Purton 18 55kg 89
10 2436×10343 LUCKY LAGO Lee & Anthony Freedman Jim Cassidy 3 55kg 89
11 4x044x1439 SULTRY FEELING James Cummings Hugh Bowman 7 55kg 85
12 442x3390x3 TRAVESTON GIRL Tony Gollan Damien Oliver 14 55kg 89
13 25277×0045 SCARLET BILLOWS Darren Weir Craig Williams 10 55kg 90
14 8549×13117 KAYJAY’S JOY David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 8 55kg 85
15 6x7574x084 TAHNI DANCER Clinton McDonald Michael Dee (a) 6 55kg 75
16 13x6535x47 THINKING OF YOU (NZ) Peter G Moody Glen Boss 11 55kg 75
17e 48x830x126 UNEQUIVOCAL Noel Mayfield-Smith Blake Shinn 2 55kg 75
18e 16204×112 INTO THE MIST Tony McEvoy Dwayne Dunn 15 55kg 77

2015 Maybe Mahal Stakes Nominations

The Maybe Mahal Stakes nominations draw horses from around the country. Many trainers seek to get their better mares into the Maybe Mahal Stakes nominations in an endeavour to get them into a highly competitive race towards the end of the spring racing carnival.

The 2015 Maybe Mahal Stakes nominations will be provided here.

Maybe Mahal Stakes Results

Maybe Mahal Stakes winners, place getters and winning times since 2005 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2014 1 Mahara 2 Rose Of Choice 3 Vibrant Rouge 1:23.3
2013 1 Plucky Belle 2 Arinosa 3 She’s Clean 1:22.7
2012 1 Koonoomoo 2 Cabernet 3 Mid Summer Music 1:21.0
2011 1 Sophie’s Spirit 2 Little Surfer Girl 3 Divorces 1:22.5
2010 1 Jersey Lily 2 Happy Hippy 3 Valentine Miss 1:23.4
2009 1 Strawberry Field 2 Ortensia 3 Rose Syrah 1:25.5
2008 1 Neroli 2 Jacqueline Rouge 3 Jewelled Gate 1:23.1
2007 1 Juste Momente 2 Zip Baby Zip 3 Goldfield Ashes 1:23.8
2006 1 Storm Signal 2 Pasikatera 3 Hasta La Ciao Ciao 1:22.9
2005 1 Vintner 2 Pin Up 3 Irongail 1:22.6