Lee Steere Stakes

The 2016 Lee Steere Stakes is a Group 2 event run every November at Ascot Racecourse in the city of Perth, capital of Western Australia. It’s one of the first events of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival and is contested under weight for age conditions.

The event is run over a 1400m trek and pays out $250,000 in prize money. As the very first Group 2 rated event of the Perth summer it provides a great opportunity for horses which have either good first up form or for horses running on well from the spring.

The Group 3 Prince Of Wales Stakes is often used as a lead up event as it’s held just two weeks before the Lee Steere Stakes on the same track.

From this race the best performing runners will likely jump up to Group 1 level with their next start in the Railway Stakes or the Winterbottom Stakes, run three weeks later.

One of the highlights of the Perth summer is the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic and the Lee Steere Stakes can be used as a long range tune up for that event.

Western Australia has a proud history of sending quality horses across to the east coast where they are usually very competitive.

The Lee Steere Stakes has featured a few of these in the past and the winner’s list has some of the state’s best.

Double Dignity never managed to win the race being outclassed back to back in 1992 and 1993 by Welcome Knight and Webasso.

In 1995 Century Blazer beat Webasso to the line but was himself edged out the following year when Bradson got in the way.

Umrum was champion in 2000 while Ellicorsam put in a blistering time to win in 2004.

The unluckiest horse in the races history though has to be Tarzi which finished second in 2008, 2009 and 2010 to Marasco, Idyllic Prince and Famous Roman.

2015 Lee Steere Stakes Field

The Lee Steere Stakes field draws talent from right around Western Australia. It isn’t unusual for an eastern horse to target the Lee Steere Stakes field, although by and large it is almost always filled out with western horses.

The 2015 Lee Steere Stakes field is published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 1111x40x11 BLACK HEART BART Vaughn Sigley Glenn Smith 4 59kg
2 01000P723x GLOBAL FLIRT Justin Warwick Peter Hall 7 59kg
3 6630x49x84 BASS STRAIT (NZ) Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 1 59kg
4 x23111111x DELICACY Grant Williams William Pike 2 57kg
5 x4112x40x3 MAGNIFISIO Vaughn Sigley Jason Brown 6 57kg
6 55x3311x27 FUCHSIA BANDANA Darren Mcauliffe Jarrad Noske 3 57kg
7 1121311142 WINK AND A NOD Justin Warwick Ms Lucy Warwick (a) 5 57kg

2015 Lee Steere Stakes Nominations

The Lee Steere Stakes nominations attract horses from right around the country, but the vast majority hail from western stables, particularly those in Perth. Horses may enter the Lee Steere Stakes nominations for any number of reasons, although it is usually used as a leadup race earlier on in most summer campaigns.

The 2015 Lee Steere Stakes nominations are published below.

Lee Steere Stakes Results

Lee Steere Stakes winners, place getters and winning times since 2000 are displayed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Perfect Reflection 2 Disposition 3 Tradesman 1:23.09
2015 1 Black Heart Bart 2 Magnifisio 3 Delicacy 1:22.53
2014 1 Magnifisio 2 Fuchsia Bandana 3 Platinum Rocker 1:23.63
2013 1 Conservatorium 2 Checkpoint 3 Ranger 1:23.86
2012 1 Luckygray 2 God Has Spoken 3 Luke’s Luck 1:22.95
2011 1 Ranger 2 Grand Nirvana 3 Waratah’s Secret 1:22.6
2010 1 Famous Roman 2 Tarzi 3 For Your Eyes Only 1:24.0
2009 1 Idyllic Prince 2 Tarzi 3 Spirited One 1:22.5
2008 1 Marasco 2 Tarzi 3 Hartleys Dream 1:22.6
2007 1 Grasspatch Girl 2 Mansion House 3 No Questions 1:22.3
2006 1 Belle Bizarre 2 Hartley’s Dream 3 Wild Target 1:22.4
2005 1 Avenida Madero 2 Covertly 3 Hartley’s Dream 1:21.9
2004 1 Ellicorsam 2 Modem 3 Mr Sandgroper 1:21.3
2003 1 Early Express 2 Modem 3 Finito 1:23.3
2002 1 Hardrada 2 Irish Prelude 3 Finito 1:21.9
2001 1 Tribula 2 Fair Alert 3 Old Comrade 1:25.4
2000 1 Umrum 2 Old Comrade 3 Star System 1:23.6

Get more information about the Lee Steere Stakes!