Kalgoorlie Cup

The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup is a listed staying event held in Western Australia during Spring.

The Kalgoorlie Cup is raced over 2300m, allowing local stayers to get experience at black-type level. Run under Open Quality conditions, the Kalgoorlie Cup is a genuine test of each horse’s ability to last the distance.

With [cf “prize_money”] prize money on offer, the Kalgoorlie Cup is one of the wealthier cup events run in the region. It is part of the famous western cups trifecta, which includes the Kalgoorlie Cup, the Coolgardie Cup and the Boulder Cup. Quite often, very similar fields will line up for all three races, each horse chasing the elusive cups trifecta.

Other follow-on races for horses who experience success in the Kalgoorlie Cup include the Railway Stakes, Kingston Town Classic and Perth Cup.

The Kalgoorlie Cup is an important part of Western Australian racing. It brings black-type racing to a country track and allows country horses the opportunity to prove their worth against metro-stabled horses. A victory in the Kalgoorlie Cup gives a horse a certain prestige and the opportunity to join the ranks of successful race horses who have passed through the event.

2015 Kalgoorlie Cup Field

The Kalgoorlie Cup field usually attracts decent staying horses, both from metro and country stables. Entry into the Kalgoorlie Cup field requires extensive racing experience and a fairly successful history. While it is a country meet and only listed status, the Kalgoorlie Cup still boasts some decent horses. The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup field will be published here on Wednesday, September 16th.

2015 Kalgoorlie Cup Nominations

The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup nominations will be publicised on Monday, 14 September. The Kalgoorlie Cup nominations usually contain a fairly diverse selection of horses, all hoping for a crack at the renowned Kalgoorlie Cup. The Kalgoorlie Cup nominations provide a good indication of those horses which are targeting the cups trifecta. When the 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup nominations are released, they will be uploaded here.

Kalgoorlie Cup Results

Notable Kalgoorlie Cup winners include Lottila Bay (2000), Master Vision (2007) and Gondorff (2009). Kalgoorlie Cup results, winners and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 True Gold 2 Friarday 3 Ram Jam  2:20.90
2013 1 Classique Ivory 2 Starlight Lady 3 Imperial Command  2:21.03
2012 1 Lopov 2 Double Barrel 3 Test The Angels  2:20.52
2011 1 Kincaple 2 Battle Emblem 3 Kasabian  21.92
2010 1 Sunrange 2 Telexden 3 Guyno  2:21.85
2009 1 Gondorff 2 Zubizaretta 3 Neige  2:23.66
2008 1 Action Pak 2 Goldtown 3 Impact Rating  2:24.96
2007 1 Master Vision 2 Action Plan 3 Hail Mary  2:23.50
2006 1 Black Tom 2 Main Stage 3 Master Vision  2:21.95
2005 1 Priceless Matt 2 Master Vision 3 Mercedario  2:22.87
2004 1 Violent Wind 2 Quasarock 3 Blevvo  2:21.64
2003 1 Czariffic 2 Kiwi Hombre 3 Priceless Matt  2:22.81
2002 1 Lawmaker 2 Noon 3 Great Fingall  2:25.30
2001 1 Opening Twist 2 Never Blue 3 Tumeric  2:21.82
2000 1 Lottila Bay 2 Never Blue 3 Master Clan  2:21.43