Cranbourne Cup

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup is a Listed event held at Cranbourne Racecourse in Melbourne during the Spring Racing Carnival.

An open handicap, the Cranbourne Cup is contested over a staying distance of 2025m. While not the longest cup event, it still provides gallopers with a chance to step out to greater distances than 1600m.

With $200,000 prize money on offer, the Cranbourne Cup is far and away one of the wealthiest listed events in the nation. Held on a Sunday straight after Caulfield Guineas Day, the Cranbourne Cup is the only black-type event held on the day throughout the country.

Horses take quite a few different paths to the Cranbourne Cup. Some of the more popular lead up events include the Group 3 Bart Cummings and the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes, along with several non black-type events.

Following the Cranbourne Cup, successful runners might go on to any number of events. In the past, the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup, the Caulfield Cup and the Melbourne Cup have all seen runners from the Cranbourne Cup.

The Cranbourne Cup was first held in 1898 and since then has continued to supply highly talented stayers with a good distance run and an additional win. Due to consistent efforts from the Cranbourne Turf Club, Cranbourne Cup Day has become a highly enjoyable affair that caters to families and children with ease.

Because of its importance to the bigger Melbourne spring events held at major racecourses, Cranbourne Cup Day also hosts a Myer Fashions on the Field heat.

Notable Cranbourne Cup winners include Brave Chief (2000), On A Jeune (2004), Emerald Jack (2007) and Pakal (2013).

2016 Cranbourne Cup Field

The Cranbourne Cup field tends to attract horses from a range of racing experiences. Both country and metro horses face off in the Cranbourne Cup field in an intense, high stakes battle for superiority. Usually, a truly talented horse will rise to the top of the Cranbourne Cup field.

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup field will be published here on Thursday, October 6th.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 5821x2x069 PRINCE OF PENZANCE (NZ) Darren Weir John Allen 12 60kg 113
2 x21377x056 THE CLEANER Peter Gelagotis Steven Arnold 3 60kg 108
3 97170×9670 ESCADO Matt Laurie Ben Melham 11 56.5kg 100
4 115x0x00x3 BRING SOMETHING Ken Keys Craig Williams 4 54.5kg 96
5 71x110x266 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) Lee & Anthony Freedman Craig Newitt 7 54kg 95
6 001310×793 TARQUIN John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 8 54kg 91
7 8689x10x72 BLIZZARD (NZ) Emma-Lee & David Browne Damien Oliver 2 54kg 90
8 x97550x268 TOOLEYBUC KID Darren Weir Damian Lane 6 54kg 90
9 5462102×09 ROSE OF VIRGINIA (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope Ben E Thompson (a) 5 54kg 88
10 275x586x52 PLOT THE COURSE Michael Trotter Michael Walker 9 54kg 77
11 2022911×41 SLY ROMANCE (NZ) Richard Laming Ben Allen (a) 1 54kg 77
12 3618616541 AAGAS Todd Balfour 10 54kg 68

2016 Cranbourne Cup Nominations

The Cranbourne Cup nominations provide punters with a semi-accurate indication of the spring intent of many well-known stayers. You’ll usually find a host of decent stayers in the Cranbourne Cup nominations, alongside some lesser-known yet possibly equally talented country horses.

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup nominations will be published here on Tuesday, October 6th.

Cranbourne Cup Results

Cranbourne Cup results and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2014 1 Mourinho 2 More Than Sacred 3 Le Roi 2:06.5
2013 1 Pakal 2 Sertorius 3 Mourinho 2:06.3
2012 1 Midnight Martini 2 Streets Away 3 Streaky Fella 2:06.8
2011 1 Boom N Zoom 2 Paddy O’Reilly 3 Ginga Dude 2:06.6
2010 1 Starmon 2 Mr Bentley 3 Tube 2:06.8
2009 1 Sermon 2 Stormhill 3 The Sportsman 2.04.8
2008 1 Majestical 2 Barbaricus 3 Chantal Sally 2.03.1
2007 1 Emerald Jack 2 Blue Collar Jack 3 El Pretender 2:05.6
2006 1 Blue Collar Jack 2 Octrivia 3 Professional Lady 2:06.5
2005 1 Show Barry 2 Tosen Dandy 3 Irish Crusader 2:04.6
2004 1 On A Jeune 2 Da Capo 3 Bedouin 2:03.4
2003 1 Kattavia 2 Out Of Options 3 Pinstripe 2:07.5
2002 1 Eagle Rhythm 2 Adolescence 3 Hail 2:03.9
2001 1 Bush Padre 2 Captivator 3 Spirit Of Westbury 2:04.5
2000 1 Brave Chief 2 Yammer 3 Figurehead 2:02.6