Colonel Reeves Stakes

The 2015 Colonel Reeves Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth during the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

Raced on Melbourne Cup Day, the event is always staged in front of a big crowd with plenty of punters on hand for Australia’s most famous day of racing.

The Colonel Reeves Stakes is a quality handicap and is worth [cf “prize_money”]. It is contested over a trip of 1100m with a field of mainly local talent.

Horses coming into this race may come through the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes (1400m) at the start of the carnival.

After this they are likely to step up in distance for the Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) or the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m).

While this field is usually without too many travellers from the east coast there are usually a couple of handy types that come across for the Group 1 events.

That said, Hay List was the major drawcard in this race in 2009 before sensationally missing the first three as a huge favourite.

That race was won by Revolition and other Colonel Reeves Stakes winners include Highwood in 2000, Electric General in 2006, So Secret in 2007 and Avante in 2011.

2015 Colonel Reeves Stakes Field

The Colonel Reeves Stakes field usually features a range of quality types. It’s usually the handier local sprinters who contest the Colonel Reeves Stakes field, particularly as it’s so early in the Perth Summer Carnival. Occasionally some eastern horses make the journey to enter the Colonel Reeves Stakes field, but by and large this is a local race.

The 2015 Colonel Reeves Stakes field will be published below.

2015 Colonel Reeves Stakes Nominations

The Colonel Reeves Stakes nominations tend to attract horses from mainly local stables. However, occasionally horses from eastern states will enter the Colonel Reeves Stakes nominations in an endeavour to either extend their spring carnival or begin in the summer carnival in Perth. The Colonel Reeves Stakes nominations can give a good indication of which horses will be resuming early enough to peak for the later Group 1 events.

The 2015 Colonel Reeves Stakes nominations will be published below.

Colonel Reeves Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Colonel Reeves Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Shining Knight 2 Testamezzo 3 Hussy By Choice  1:03.99
2013 1 The Rising 2 Mendicity 3 Watermans Bay  1:03.9
2012 1 Barakey 2 Werd 3 Waratah’s Secret  1:03.8
2011 1 Avante 2 Werd 3 All Friared Up  1:03.6
2010 1 Ma Ma Machine 2 Waratah’s Secret 3 King Kool Kat  1:03.6
2009 1 Revolition 2 Black In Time 3 Ma Ma Machine  1:03.6
2008 1 Danny Beau 2 Hadabeclorka 3 Black In Time  1:08.0
2007 1 So Secret 2 Innovation 3 Exotic Nights  1:10.2
2006 1 Electric General 2 Star Laser 3 Grasspatch Girl  1:10.0
2005 1 Ellicorsam 2 Arctic Park 3 Star Laser  1:10.2
2004 1 Avenida Madero 2 Refemme 3 Western Tycoon  1:10.2
2003 1 Golden Delicious 2 Hot Shot Brother 3 Wyndam Glory  1:11.6
2002 1 Secret Remedy 2 Irish Pride 3 Golden Delicious  1:10.9
2001 1 Lady Belvedere 2 Polygram 3 Exit Lane  1:10.0
2000 1 Highwood 2 Secret Remedy 3 Face Your Fears  1:11.2