Black Opal Stakes

The 2017 Black Opal Stakes is a group 3 race held at Canberra’s Thoroughbred Park around March each year.

The Black Opal Stakes is run under set weights plus penalties conditions and is open to two year old horses only. Held over a sprinting distance of 1200m, the Black Opal Stakes regularly attracts a talented field of young horses.

Held on a Sunday, the Black Opal Stakes often competes with the two Golden Slipper trials at Randwick held on the same weekend, the Group 2 Reisling Stakes (1200m) and the Group 2 Todman Stakes (1200m). As a Group 3 event, the Black Opal Stakes tends to attract those types which may not be up to the level of competition in the Slipper Trials.

In recent years, there has been some controversy regarding the ATC attracting trainers and their horses to the slipper trials.

With an impressive $300,000 prize money on offer, the Black Opal Stakes presents a very lucrative target that often attracts horses in excess of its status. It is one of the main feature races held in Canberra.

The Black Opal Stakes takes a field limit of 14 horses, with 6 emergency acceptances taken.

Prior to the 2015 edition, the Black Opal Stakes was held as a listed event. It shares a race day with the listed Canberra National Sprint (1400m), listed Canberra Guineas (1400m) and listed Canberra Cup (2000m), making it one of the biggest annual race days in the year.

First held in 1973, the Black Opal Stakes has a long and storied history, and in 2015 celebrated its 42nd year. The inaugural Black Opal Stakes was taken out by Rich Reward. The race was not held in 2007 due to track redevelopment at Thoroughbred Park.

2017 Black Opal Stakes Field

The Black Opal Stakes field usually attracts a fairly decent set of two year olds. As one of the premier events held at Thoroughbred Park, the Black Opal Stakes field usually features some of the classier two year olds from local stables.

The 2017 Black Opal Stakes field is published below.

Black Opal Stakes Results

The Black Opal Stakes results are usually populated by very talented young horses. It takes a classy sprinter to appear on the list of Black Opal Stakes winners.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Defcon 2 Flash Fibian 3 Prized Icon 1:10.6
2015 1 Takedown 2 Single Gaze 3 Antelucan 1:10.5
2014 1 Lucky Raquie 2 Mr Cha Cha 3 Klammer 1:11.1
2013 1 Criterion 2 Sidestep 3 Meticulously 1:10.6
2012 1 Epaulette 2 Faustus 3 Later Gator 1:23.5
2011 1 You’re Canny 2 Karuta Queen 3 Bright Heart 1:12.7
2010 1 Decision Time 2 Lohan 3 Butt I’m Ready 1:12.7
2009 1 Delago Bolt 2 Phenomenal Lass 3 Zikmann 1:10.9
2008 1 Sarthemare 2 Typhoon Fury 3 De Lightning Ridge 1:11.6
2007 1 Not Held 2 3
2006 1 Down The Wicket 2 One Time 3 Luvuleo 1:09.9
2005 1 Al Samer 2 Another Time 3 Jet Spur 1:08.9
2004 1 Uber 2 St Pirian 3 Just As Beautiful 1:10.3
2003 1 Handsome Ransom 2 Exceed And Excel 3 Sansadee 1:10.4
2002 1 Planchet 2 3
2001 1 Coral Salute 2 Antagonise 3 Finbarr 1:15.5
2000 1 Pembleton 2 3