ATC Chairman’s Handicap

The 2019 ATC Chairman’s Handicap is a Group 2 race staged annually during the Sydney autumn racing carnival at Randwick Racecourse. It is an open handicap event with [cf “prize_money”] in prize money on offer to the winners.

The Chairman’s Handicap is one of the longer races of the carnival at 2600m in distance. As such the winner gains a ballot exemption to the longest event of the carnival, the Group 1 Sydney Cup over 3200m.

The Chairman’s Handicap is staged on one of the biggest days of the carnival, Day 1 of The Championships, on the same card as headline events like the Doncaster Mile, TJ Smith, Sires Produce Stakes and the Australian Derby.

It provides a fantastic form line for the Sydney Cup with King Aussie in 1990, Linesman in 1997, Henderson Bay in 2022, No Wine No Song in 2008 and Jessicabeel in 2010 all claiming the double.

No Wine No Song also has the rare honour of having claimed this race back to back with wins in 2007 and 2008.

Steel Phoenix also won it twice with a win in 1999 before returning to do it again in 2001.

Other notable champions include Grey Song in 2003, Mummify in 2004 and Once Were Wild in 2011.

2019 Chairman’s Handicap Field

The Chairman’s Handicap field usually features a fairly talented selection of stayers. Although it holds Group 2 status, many of the horses running in it will have their eyes set on the Group 1 Sydney Cup further down the track.

The 2019 Chairman’s Handicap field is provided below.

2019 Chairman’s Handicap Nominations

The Chairman’s Handicap nominations are announced on the Monday prior to the race, with acceptances released two days later on the Wednesday.

The 2019 Chairman’s Handicap nominations will be published here.

ATC Chairman’s Handicap Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the ATC Chairman’s Handicap since 2000 with winning times.

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sir Charles Road Ventura Storm Peribsen 2:41.5
2017 Big Duke Aloft Rock On 2:52.4
2016 Real Love Sir John Hawkwood Volkhere 2:00.9
2016 Libran Alegria Cafe Society 2:48.1
2015 Epingle Index Linked Volkhere 2:18.3
2015 Tremec Sir John Hawkwood Grand Marshal 2:49.4
2014 The Offer Tremec Hippopus 2:51.6
2013 Tremec Blood Brotha Aliyana Tilde 2:44.4
2012 Permit Older Than Time Nextanix 2:41.9
2011 Once Were Wild Anudjawun C’est Le Guerre 2:43.4
2010 Jessicabeel No Wine No Song Harris Tweed 2:44.6
2009 Divine Rebel Ice Chariot Common Objective 2:45.9
2008 No Wine No Song Sky Biscuit Resolution 2:49.8
2007 No Wine No Song Prince Arthur Magic Instinct 2:48.1
2006 Fooram Three Chimneys Cross Bar 2:45.0
2005 Philosophe Padfoot Charlie County Tyrone 2:51.1
2004 Mummify County Tyrone Saturday Fever 2:47.7
2003 Grey Song Honor Babe County Tyrone 2:32.4
2002 Henderson Bay Homewrecker Asia 2:29.7
2001 Steel Phoenix Giovana Wellington 2:32.0
2000 Pravda Consolidator Regal Touch 2:31.2