Toowoomba Racecourse, also known as Clifford Park Racecourse, is one of Queensland’s leading provincial race tracks.

Acquired in 1861, the first racing at the Toowoomba Racecourse was conducted by the Darling Downs Jockey Club on March 6, 1862. The Toowoomba Turf Club, which operate the Toowoomba Racecourse today, was first formed in 1882.

Toowoomba Racecourse made history in 1992 after it held the first race under electric lights in Australia; the Toowoomba Cup, which was won by Waigani Drive. On September 4, 1996, Toowoomba Racecourse held Australia’s first ever night meeting. Now known as the ‘home of twilight racing’, Clifford Park Racecourse currently holds races under lights every Saturday night and stages a total of 57 TAB meetings per year.

Toowoomba Racecourse was a grass track until 2009 when it was replaced by a synthetic cushion track. The race track’s two major races of the year, the Toowoomba Cup and the Weetwood Handicap, took place on the new track for the first time on July 11, 2009.

Toowoomba Racecourse has a course circumference of 1,750 metres and a home straight distance of 360 metres. Horses run in a clockwise direction on the track and the racecourse has three chutes.

As well as being one of Australia’s most important provincial tracks, Toowoomba Racecourse boasts excellent member’s facilities, restaurants, public bars and a carpeted betting ring.