Ipswich Racecourse was first established in 1890 and was originally known as the Bundamba Racecourse. The track changed its name to Ipswich Racecourse in 1991. Ipswich Racecourse is located approximately 32 kilometres outside of Brisbane’s CBD in the suburb of Bundamba.

The Ipswich Racecourse is operated by the Ipswich Turf Club, which has been holding races in the Ipswich area since 1848. It became the Ipswich Amateur Turf Club in 1890 and started racing at today’s Ipswich Racecourse. The Club was then renamed the Ipswich Turf Club in 1988 and has stayed the same ever since.

Presently there is around 46 meetings per year that take place at the provincial Ipswich Racecourse. This includes two Saturday meetings, one of these being the popular Ipswich Cup that takes place in June. The Ipswich Cup was a Group 3 race from 1986 to 2005, after which it was made a Listed race. Run over a distance of 2,150 metres, the Ipswich Cup is an open handicap race worth $200,000. Robert Heathcote’s Our Lukas has won the Ipswich Cup in 2010 and 2011.

Ipswich Racecourse has a track circumference of 1,746 metres, a 300 metre long straight and there are five chutes. The track is almost circular in shape and is bias to frontrunners that are able to lead throughout the entire race.

As well as the quality track, Ipswich Racecourse offers function rooms that cater for a variety of occasions such as weddings, conferences and award nights.