Geelong Racecourse is located approximately 80 kilometres south-west of the city of Melbourne, Victoria and only four kilometres south of the regional city of Geelong.

The first Geelong race meet took place in 1841 at the city’s first racecourse in Corio. In 1849 a proper racecourse was developed next to the Barwon River at Marshaltown, however, this course was subjected to constant flooding. Finally the current Geelong Racecourse was opened in 1908, equipped with its own railway station. The course is run by the Geelong Racing Club, which was formed in 1866.

Geelong Racecourse has a track circumference of 2,043 metres and a straight distance of 400 metres. Races at the track are run in an anticlockwise direction and the course is a near perfect oval shape.

Geelong Racecourse is home to the popular Geelong Cup. The Geelong Cup is a Group 3 race run over a distance of 2,400 metres. The race is classed as one of the best form guides for the Melbourne Cup, which is held the next month. In 2010, Americain claimed the Geelong Cup- Melbourne Cup double. The Geelong Cup was first held in 1872 and is now held on the fourth Wednesday of October each year.

Recently, Geelong Racecourse has been the subject of a number of different upgrades and renovations to both the racecourse and the surrounding buildings, including a major revamp of the actual track. The track was changed from a grass surface to synthetic to allow for all-weather racing.